Italian GP: Ricciardo wins as Verstappen & Hamilton collide again

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Daniel Ricciardo claimed his first win since 2018 as Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen crashed again at the Italian Grand Prix.

The Australian took the lead at the start and never looked back with a faultless performance at Monza to lead McLaren teammate Lando Norris to the first one-two for a team this season.

Race Review

After winning a year ago, AlphaTauri saw both cars out before the start with technical issues.

When the lights went out, a strong launch from both McLarens saw Daniel Ricciardo take the lead on the run to Turn 1, with Lewis Hamilton, the only frontrunner on hard tyres, moving up to third.

The Briton then tried a move on Verstappen into the second chicane but would be forced across the inside, losing a place to Norris.

Behind, Antonio Giovinazzi split the two Ferraris but went wide in the second chicane and would leave Carlos Sainz no space upon rejoining as the Spaniard spun the Italian in the barrier.

All were able to continue with the Alfa Romeo needing a new front wing.

The first stint was a repeat of the Sprint race as both Verstappen and Hamilton couldn't get close enough on the straights to the slippery McLarens.

After starting at the back of the grid, Valtteri Bottas made good progress made into the top 10 by Lap 15.

The race took a huge twist in the pit-stop phase as a slow stop for Verstappen saw him lose a significant amount of time.

However, a small hesitation in Hamilton's stop put the pair side-by-side into the first chicane.

Max would try and muscle up the inside but would collide with the Mercedes after hitting the inside sausage kerb taking both drivers out of the race.

The resulting safety car allowed Charles Leclerc to pit and resume in second with Sergio Perez also benefitting in the Red Bull.

At the restart, Norris reclaimed P2 from the Monegasque through the Curva Grande before Perez and Bottas also passed the Ferrari.

Crucially, the Mexican's overtake on Leclerc would earn him a five-second penalty for cutting the second chicane.

The order at the front would remain static as a brief Virtual Safety Car saw the top six became a slipstream train.

And at the front was Daniel Ricciardo to claim his first win since Monaco in 2018 and score McLaren's first victory since Brazil 2012.

Norris made it the Woking-based team's first 1-2 since 2010 in second as Bottas inherited third following Perez's penalty.

Leclerc also moved ahead of Checo into fourth with Sainz sixth in the second Ferrari.

Lance Stroll took seventh for Aston Martin ahead of Fernando Alonso. George Russell scored for the third time in four races in ninth as Esteban Ocon completed the top 10.

Full results from Monza can be seen below: